…it’s like I’m nesting…

After knitting a TON of Christmas gifts for people (and looking at 2 other gifts I need to work on), I didn’t really want to do anything except knit stuff for myself. And since I have an apartment and all, I was feeling all domestic. See for your self. (By the way, these were all finished yesterday.)

First up, was a swiffer cozy – a la Green Mountain Mama.

IMG_1297

I asked for a swiffer for Christmas specifically so that I could make this cozy. It has buttons! It’s environmentally friendly! It’s a twist on the Mason Dixon Ballband Dishcloth! It’s a recipe for success! I raveled it here….

The best part is that it works! Want proof?

The next thing I made was to solve a problem… when I wash dishes, I tend to get water everywhere. And by everywhere I mean… everywhere. The problem is that when my counter gets all full of water, it pools and then drains right at my feet. Obviously, this sucks. So, I had to make a rug!

IMG_1304

Isn’t it great? Want to know how to make one of your very own?

  1. Get a pair of US 19 circular needles in long (mine were 35 inches).
  2. Collect a bunch of crap yarn that you don’t know what to do with (all feltable, no superwash for you) in colors that seem to go together.
  3. Cast on 65 ish stitches.
  4. Knit until you almost run out of yarn, then cast off.
  5. Throw in the washing machine until desired size is reached.

Easy huh? I know! And look how great it turned out:

IMG_1302

I’m really serious about the crap yarn part. Want to know what went in mine? (I had 6 strings going.)

  • 3 balls of what remained of a sweater’s worth of brown Paton’s Merino Classic. (I broke it up to knit my dad some brown slippers for Christmas). This was the base – I had two strings of this in the blanket – but since I didn’t have 4 balls, which would have been ideal, that third ball was spun into 2 smaller balls with some random bits of other browns mixed in.
  • A big skein of random bits of matching-ish crap tied together to stripe: 3 different partial balls of knitpicks browns, about 6 yards total of yellow (split into 3 different pieces), about 6 yards of orange, and 110 yards of black.
  • a skein of knitpicks dye your own merino sock yarn – that I’d dyed into a variegated skein of blues.
  • A skein of knitpicks shadow laceweight in a maroon color balled together with a skein of alpaca laceweight (also knitpicks) in an oatmeal color.
  • A skein of Blackberry Ridge Woollen Mill lace weight (75% wool, 25% silk) in a green almost tweedy color. This was gifted to me by a secret pal…

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out. Next up, some curtain tiebacks. I was inspired by a pattern in Suss Cousin’s Home knits. As you can see, the ones in her book are super cute, and have a button!

IMG_1307

So I was inspired to make my own… I used some Berrocco Suede and look what I came up with:

IMG_1306

I’m thrilled with the results. I got exactly two out of one ball. I LOVE how they look. They’re all elegant and functional and …. perfect. I’m sure that I’ll be able to use them for a long time. And I think the button choice is perfect.

So look at that! Three items, for me, well, my apartment anyway. It’s almost like I’m nesting or something. Next up… a baby sweater!  NO… I’m not pregnant.  The baby sweater is for my boss. And the nesting thing is just cause they were things I needed.

14 Responses to “…it’s like I’m nesting…”


  1. 1 Emilee January 1, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    Those are all great! I need curtain tie-backs myself, but I never thought of making them.

  2. 2 Kim January 1, 2008 at 4:31 pm

    Wow, you are inspirational. Great ideas!

  3. 3 b from knitting harvest January 1, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    Great household items! I think the curtain tie-backs are fantastic. Great work!

  4. 4 Kim U January 1, 2008 at 7:29 pm

    Those are all great! I think I’m going to have to give the swiffer cover a try, with your evidence that it does actually work.

  5. 5 orata January 1, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Oh my god, I love all your house knits! The rug seems like a great way to use up scrap yarn–came out looking amazing.

  6. 6 Meg Canada January 1, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    Can’t wait to make the Swiffer cover- you are a dynamo Nicole!!

  7. 7 mel January 1, 2008 at 10:34 pm

    Excellent!! I especially love the swiffer cover – brilliant!

  8. 8 ruthsplace January 2, 2008 at 4:46 am

    Love the mat, and the curtain tie-backs.

  9. 9 Debbie January 2, 2008 at 10:08 am

    Love the rug and what a great idea for curtain tie backs!

  10. 10 Oiyi January 2, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    The curtain tiebacks are genius! I have been using a piece of yarn to tie them back, but this is even better.

  11. 11 Aim January 4, 2008 at 7:39 pm

    I love all your home items! The rug is especially cool, and the curtain tiebacks are a fun item. I think I will look around my house and see what I might have need of 🙂

    thanks for the inspiration!!

  12. 12 whoneedsgauge January 6, 2008 at 2:04 pm

    I love the swiffer cozy, I want to make some of my own. Thanks for the link!

  13. 13 Hobson's Choice January 23, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    Love the swiffer cozy and enjoyed discovering your blog. My 14 year old swiffer, purchased in Bloomington when I was a student at IU, definitely needs a cozy.

  14. 14 neeta July 28, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    hey
    the curtain tie back looks great
    do you mind sharing the pattern ?

    thanks


Leave a comment




Howdy!

Welcome to the site! Look around. Grab a seat. I hope you brought some knitting. Feel free to bookmark the site - and at the very least, check back every once in a while (I'm a night poster). Oh. And leave me a comment!

email me at... nicole dot hindesTAKE THIS PART OUT AT gmail THIS PART TOO dot com

proudfeminist
lysemployee
iustudent

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Stuff on the needles – to complete, sometime.

Christmas Gifts to Finish
Mom's Sweater (the body is done)

Socks in progress...
Grandma's Socks
Koigu Scruncher
Monkey
Raindrop Lace

Other
Lace Leaves Scarf from Scarf Style
The Behemoth Log Cabin
The Swallowtail Shawl
Stupid Ugly Mitten
Felted Clogs

Pages

January 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

On my Ipod…Music and Audiobooks

Devil in White City heartlonely