Archive for December 24th, 2006

The latest:

I have 12 more rows until I can do the bottom garter stitch band on the body.

That’ll leave the sleeves, which currently look as though they’re going to be too big.

And the neckband.

And the button bands.

And sewing the buttons.

And weaving in ends.

Forget blocking.

So much for staying up till 2…

I’m dead tired and hitting the hay. 

Update on the mom sweater:  I have 11 of 20 inches on the body done.  But both of the sleeves still remain unknit. 

I may be admitting defeat.

Must. Keep. Knitting.

So.  I can’t type much right now because I’m giving my fingers a knitting break.  The story:

I had 1/2 of the back of my mom’s cardigan done when I left for work today at the yarn store I work at occasionally.

I brought with me, all the yarn I had plus the pattern I’d configured from the Knitter’s Handy Book of Sweater Patterns using the numbers I’d gotten from my gauge swatch.

The problem?  When I looked at my knitting (12 inches long) I would have had to fit 5 increases (split by 3 plain rows) into one inch (13 inches before I would have set aside for later raglan connecting.

I had to frog.

And Frog I did.

One of the ladies I was knitting with asked “do you want us to cry for you?”  Knitters are the sweetest people.

Anyway, back on track.

I’m now knitting the cardigan in a top-down raglan style.  I’ve split for the sleeves, but I’m not any further than that.  (Sorry I don’t have photos.  My parents computer doesn’t speak my camera language and I don’t feel like giving it lessons.)

I’m going to go knit now.   I’ll post another update soon.

(by the way, my family opens christmas presents on christmas eve after we go to church.  Definetly a handicap!)


Howdy!

Welcome to the site! Look around. Grab a seat. I hope you brought some knitting. Feel free to bookmark the site - and at the very least, check back every once in a while (I'm a night poster). Oh. And leave me a comment!

email me at... nicole dot hindesTAKE THIS PART OUT AT gmail THIS PART TOO dot com

proudfeminist
lysemployee
iustudent

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Stuff on the needles – to complete, sometime.

Christmas Gifts to Finish
Mom's Sweater (the body is done)

Socks in progress...
Grandma's Socks
Koigu Scruncher
Monkey
Raindrop Lace

Other
Lace Leaves Scarf from Scarf Style
The Behemoth Log Cabin
The Swallowtail Shawl
Stupid Ugly Mitten
Felted Clogs

Pages

December 2006
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

On my Ipod…Music and Audiobooks

Devil in White City heartlonely

Flickrize me!