Popsicle! Limesicle!

sock3

I’m pleased to be able to announce one of my secret projects!

Yay!

Here we have Popsicle (Rav link), a new sock pattern that features a mirrored patterning across the foot. I designed this for Three Irish Girls yarn company and their Sock Yarnista sock club.

I’m incredibly proud of this design and the way it turned out. It’s pretty easy/simple… and the swooshing off the foot makes me hope that people will be able to avoid some second sock syndrome. Just doing my duty, you know…

sock1

One of the design challenges in this sock was that I had to figure out how to do the gusset decreases (since the instep had it’s own party going on, I didn’t want to crowd it with your typical gusset decreases).  I knew that as Cat Bordhi explains, I could place the decreases where ever I wanted in the gusset section, just so long as they existed…  I tried a few options and finally found a perfect solution… along the bottom of the heel.  You can see a photo here that illustrates this.

Um, so yay!  I love this pattern and I hope you do too!

Here are some specifics:

Popsicle, Designed by Nicole Hindes
Gauge: 30 sts over 4 inches (36 rows over 4 inches)
Yarn:  Three Irish Girls Kells Sport Merin
Needles: US 2 (But use what gets YOU gauge)
Download available: at the Three Irish Girls Website ($5.95)
The inspiration:  This sock is an homage to the summers of my childhood. It’s a fairly simple, top-down sock with a heel flap. The interesting element to keep you out of the heat is the way the pattern melts off the top of your foot like a popsicle during the dog days of summer.

17 Responses to “Popsicle! Limesicle!”


  1. 1 Kalani July 27, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    So summer-garden-party cute! Already in my faves on Ravelry.

  2. 2 Ann July 27, 2008 at 5:28 pm

    Amazing colour, great socks 🙂

  3. 3 Trine July 27, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    These are amazing, and I instantly fell in love with them on Ravelry. When budget allows, I’ll definitely be knitting these!!

  4. 4 Emilee July 27, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    Those are so cute!

  5. 5 chemgrrl July 27, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    Oh! I just want to lick them.

  6. 6 whitney July 28, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    I absolutely adore these socks! I think I have the perfect yarn for them in my stash already, too!

  7. 8 Dawn July 28, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    I absolutely love those socks. The name is perfect.

  8. 9 Rachel July 29, 2008 at 1:47 am

    Those look fantastic!!

  9. 10 livm July 29, 2008 at 11:53 am

    It’s just a beatiful pattern.

  10. 11 Lynn July 29, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    I am adding these to my list of socks patterns to make!

  11. 12 Karen July 29, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Oh those are just spiffy!

  12. 13 terhi July 30, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    Lovely socks! And they look like they’d be fun to knit too. 🙂

  13. 14 Karen from the Basket September 27, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    Hello there!

    I just wanted to drop you a line and let you know how much I enjoyed your beginning crochet class at “In a Yarn Basket.” You are a warm and fun teacher, and I am now nearly obsessed with making granny squares. What I really needed was another yarn-related hobby–but oh well! Anyway, thanks for the experience, and I look forward (no, really!) to the seaming class. Yikes! Keep up with the teaching–it’s not something everyone can do, let alone do well.

    Have a good day!
    Karen White

  14. 15 WHAW ! November 14, 2008 at 2:21 pm

    Dear Nicole,
    What a pity ! Unfortunately, I don’t knit ! Unfortunately, there is no place to buy these socks in shops… Anyway ! Your job with these socks is absolutly amazing. Congratulations…
    WIL

  15. 16 syeda November 24, 2008 at 7:23 am

    I love these socks, where can i get the pattern?

  16. 17 D. D. Gamble February 22, 2017 at 11:46 pm

    I sure would like to buy this pattern. Help!


Leave a comment




Howdy!

Welcome to the site! Look around. Grab a seat. I hope you brought some knitting. Feel free to bookmark the site - and at the very least, check back every once in a while (I'm a night poster). Oh. And leave me a comment!

email me at... nicole dot hindesTAKE THIS PART OUT AT gmail THIS PART TOO dot com

proudfeminist
lysemployee
iustudent

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Stuff on the needles – to complete, sometime.

Christmas Gifts to Finish
Mom's Sweater (the body is done)

Socks in progress...
Grandma's Socks
Koigu Scruncher
Monkey
Raindrop Lace

Other
Lace Leaves Scarf from Scarf Style
The Behemoth Log Cabin
The Swallowtail Shawl
Stupid Ugly Mitten
Felted Clogs

Pages

July 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

On my Ipod…Music and Audiobooks

Devil in White City heartlonely

Flickrize me!