Braids made easy!

I’m sorry. I’ve moved blogs. You can find the post you’re looking for here.
Add Braid Here

20 Responses to “Braids made easy!”


  1. 1 Vicki January 27, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    That is fantastic…so easy. It’s one of those things that I look at and say: “OMG, that’s so easy to do, why didn’t I think of that?”
    Thanks for the tip, I’ll be using it.

  2. 2 Nancy January 27, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    What a great technique! Thank you for taking the time to show us how to do it. I’ve never tried to knit one of those sideways braids (probably because I’ve yet to make a pair of mittens like yours) but it’s nice to know there’s a quicker alternative.

    Beautiful mittens, by the way!

  3. 3 Kim January 27, 2008 at 9:32 pm

    Great idea for those braids! I finished these (gift mittens) last night and then noticed that I had forgotten to make the last braid across one needle so this braid went 2/3 the way around. NO WAY I was taking it out and I whipped out the crochet hook and finished it off in exactly the way you described. You can’t even tell!

  4. 4 autumnblossomknits January 27, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Thank you so much for the tutorial! I hope I have a project finished soon so I can add a braid to it.

  5. 5 Teresa January 28, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    That is a really great tutorial. Clear directions and really good pics. Thanks!

  6. 6 jessica January 28, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Great Tutoria! Thanks for sharing. I’m going to bookmark this on delicious.

  7. 7 Joanna Kostrzewa January 28, 2008 at 1:10 pm

    That’s sooo clever, thank you for sharing! *^v^*

  8. 8 Tracie January 28, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    That’s basically just a crocheted slip stitch. 🙂

  9. 9 Tracy January 28, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    Bravo, nicely done! Great photos too!

    If you want to study further on this subject checkout the technique of Tambour work. ( tambour needlework, tambour lace, tambour crochet, etc)

    Double kudos to you for figuring this out all on your own! :o)

  10. 10 orata January 28, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    Excellent! I like the seamless join best of all. There’s definitely more of a jog on the braid on my pair.

  11. 11 PoL January 29, 2008 at 9:56 am

    Ooh, thanks for that tutorial! The mitts are beautiful!

  12. 12 juliafc January 30, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    What a nice idea. Thanks for the tutorial.

  13. 13 kniterian January 31, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    So smart! I was browsing Bird in Hands on Ravelry and made my way to your site as soon as I saw the mention of “braid” and “easy” in the same sentence. I had a really hard time with the cuff on my first (and so far only) Bird in Hand (breaking wood needles and bending Addi Turbos kind of problems) and was kind of dreading starting the second one – but not now! Thanks. By the way, I also got my graduate degree at IU … Go Hoosiers.

  14. 14 jennifer February 1, 2008 at 12:13 am

    I love your tutorials, and the photos make everything so clear and easy to understand. Thanks for your hard work!

    p.s. I tagged you for a meme on my blog. Feel free to skip it if it’s not your thing.

  15. 15 f.w. February 6, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    This is a great tutorial! Thanks! Will use this technique in future projects…for Definite!

  16. 16 erin February 16, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    Wow! That’s really cool! I made two pairs of these mittens and the first pair only has one braid each (I got annoyed quickly) and the second pair I left it out all together! It wasn’t work the frustration! I love this technique though! I may go and add it now!

  17. 17 Linda Craig March 30, 2008 at 10:23 am

    Thank you so much! I am finishing off a simple pair of mittens and wanted to put the braid in it. I had no idea how difficult it was. This definitely is the way to go and it has great potential for using contrasting colour.

  18. 18 Beth March 20, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    Great tutorial. Your braids look beautiful. Thanks for sharing!


  1. 1 Craft Paper Online Blog » Blog Archive » Quick and Easy Knitted Braid Trackback on January 29, 2008 at 1:47 am
  2. 2 Look! It’s a float! Catch it! « All Buttoned Up Trackback on February 9, 2008 at 9:31 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Howdy!

Welcome to the site! Look around. Grab a seat. I hope you brought some knitting. Feel free to bookmark the site - and at the very least, check back every once in a while (I'm a night poster). Oh. And leave me a comment!

email me at... nicole dot hindesTAKE THIS PART OUT AT gmail THIS PART TOO dot com

proudfeminist
lysemployee
iustudent

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Stuff on the needles – to complete, sometime.

Christmas Gifts to Finish
Mom's Sweater (the body is done)

Socks in progress...
Grandma's Socks
Koigu Scruncher
Monkey
Raindrop Lace

Other
Lace Leaves Scarf from Scarf Style
The Behemoth Log Cabin
The Swallowtail Shawl
Stupid Ugly Mitten
Felted Clogs

Pages

January 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

On my Ipod…Music and Audiobooks

Devil in White City heartlonely

Flickrize me!