Needle Felting. A Tutorial!

Hello!

I’m sorry.  But I’m changing  blog locations.  Please click here to find the post you were looking for.

And please, excuse the mess when you get there!

39 Responses to “Needle Felting. A Tutorial!”


  1. 1 Tijm December 3, 2006 at 3:54 am

    Love your needle filting and explenation.
    In Holland we also can buy a little needle houlder for one filtneedle. It works very fine.

    tijm.blogspot.com

  2. 2 Kat with a K December 4, 2006 at 3:34 pm

    Ooh, great tutorial! I have a needle felting kit somewhere… I should pull it out.

  3. 3 Karen December 4, 2006 at 3:38 pm

    That came out great! I’ll have to give that a try one of these days.

  4. 4 Carrie K December 7, 2006 at 7:40 pm

    That’s a great tutorial, Nicole! I had no idea how to do it.

  5. 5 mlegan December 8, 2006 at 1:35 pm

    excellent tutorial. I just took a one hour class on needle felting, but haven’t tried it yet. Good to have this for reference.

  6. 6 Alli December 10, 2006 at 2:45 pm

    Hello!
    I surfed over to your blog from craftster.org and I am so glad I did! Needle felting has always been a big mystory to me and now I feel like I totally understand it. I can’t wait to felt something and try out this new technique!
    Thanks for the great tute!

  7. 7 IvyMoon February 24, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    nice site, I am building mine and after seeing how nice and uncluttered yours is I may have to rethink how I’m doing things. Really enjoyed the visit. I’m a fiber artist in Maine. Lalalalala

  8. 9 cindy Brown May 7, 2007 at 12:57 am

    Ireally need pictures. For two reasons: to actually GET it and then be able to DO it,and: to see if its pretty enough to spark my imagination. Thank you. Thankyou. Beautiful work.

  9. 10 Virginia August 21, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    Hi. I would like to know if you would know of a pattern for sheep made with wool fabric, not knitted. I would like to make one for my daughter who teaches knitting and would like to make one for her studio. If you do have such a pattern or know someone who does would you please let me know? I would appreciate it very much.
    Thank you for your reply.

  10. 11 KS September 21, 2007 at 8:15 am

    WOW! I have never needle felted but I do crochet and make felted purses. These are Great directions. I will definately be trying this. Thanks

  11. 15 Alix October 26, 2007 at 4:50 am

    Thanks for this tutorial. I had heard of needle felting but did not know how to do it. This is really informative. I will now have to go and get the needles. Thank you again.

  12. 16 Rocket November 16, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    Thanks for the great tips–I just stumbled onto needle felting and I am absolutely addicted. Best of all now I know how to attach yarn and stringy thingies from reading this. woohoo!
    Wondering if you have tried what I would uber-felting for lack of knowing the real word for it–taking an old wool sweater and shrinking it into felt and then felting over it? I’m dying to try it myself for purses, there are some great old wool sweaters with neat patterns at thrift shops cheap that must want to have a second life. Thanks again.

  13. 17 deb November 28, 2007 at 8:51 pm

    I did buy some old sweater. I had good result with all but one. Make sure you keep an eye on how much they are shrinking. One of them got so tight I could hardly cut it . It ended up cutting off the sleeves and sewing up one end as a needle holder. The rest turned out great but it is hard to get enough for anything but a 4-5 x 7 inch clutch

  14. 18 Maggie December 1, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    Thanks for the wonderful explaination! I am felting for the first time and decided to use the web as my teacher. I have spent over an hour searching and this is the first time my questions have been answered. Thanks so much ;o)

  15. 19 Andrea Frost December 2, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    I have been really curious about how to embellish with felting & your tutorial is so simple to understand & to the point. Can one felt a pair of wool slippers that hasn’t been felted yet?

  16. 20 Susan K December 4, 2007 at 9:09 pm

    Is it possible to felt on top of a knit sweater if you put a piece of felt behind the sweater?

  17. 21 Martha December 14, 2007 at 9:12 am

    I love this article – first because you admit you can’t crochet and I can’t knit (my left hand has no idea what my right hand is doing and so is only good for holding yarn) and second – you didn’t overwhelm me with what can be done…only what to do to begin. Thank you! I have my needles and wool and a felted pair of crocheted (?) mittens to embellish…thank goodness for snow days!

  18. 22 anne January 2, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    Awesome tutorial! I can’t wait to give this a try!

  19. 23 ann January 21, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    I tried a loofa I had just sitting around “looking pretty” instead of a styrofoam block. Worked very well & it didn’t have the resistance that foam sometimes has. My quilt shop sells different colors of wool roving & I have even experimented w creating my own felt strips with just the roving. Allows you to custom blend colors, add yarns, etc to embellish other projects.

  20. 24 Lori January 28, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Thanks so much for the great instructions on needle felting. I’m making my very first felted purse and I have to needle felt all these little flower thingies all over it and couldn’t quite get the jist of it by their instructions.

  21. 25 Barbara February 14, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    Hello,
    Nice tutorial! I am wondering if felting will work on 1/8″ 95%wool industrial felt?
    I picked your site as the first hit to check to learn how to do this and it is fantastic.
    I have made a fetl purse and wanted to adorn it.

    Thanks,
    Barbara

  22. 26 Katheryn Whitesides February 23, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    Hi, I make cloth dolls and would like to use needle felting to make the hair. I’m wondering if you can make the felting look curly? Can you make a piece of needle felting to cut out like a pattern piece then attach to the dolls head? Saw a doll, made by a 15 yr old girl, that had human hair that was needle felted but it was quite stringy and the hairs went every which way. I haven’t done any needle felting and am trying to get some idea of how I would go about using this process for my dolls.

    Thanks,
    Katheryn

  23. 27 Jumble March 4, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    This looks like great fun. I’m going to link to your site from my blog. I hope that is Okay considering i’m a crochter. my Dad tried to teach me how to knit, I couldn’t do it. He however made beautiful complicated things.

  24. 28 Megs April 1, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Thanks for this awesome tutorial! I just heard about needle felting today and I can’t wait to try it out! I’m wondering how you use this technique to form shapes like balls (for beads, etc)? Thanks again for the info!

    http://dote.etsy.com

  25. 29 roxy May 13, 2008 at 12:50 am

    Thanks for your tutorial! I bought a sweet little kit from a nice little Korean girl at Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival a few weeks ago, but the directions were in Korean! (yes, it had cartoon pictures to accompany the print but I wanted to be sure)

    Good times!

  26. 30 Helen August 9, 2008 at 9:06 am

    I’ve been an avid knitter for a very long time, and have previously not seen the need to embellish. However, lately I’ve been playing with crochet – hate it!! -. beading, trims and so on. This is just what I was looking for.

    Felting starter kit arrived this morning, so I will now get going, with this as a guide. Many thanks!

    BTW, can you felt onto knits as well as felted items?

  27. 31 Blossom June 30, 2009 at 11:34 pm

    Was looking forward to reading your felting tutorial, but it must have moved. I’ll hop on over to your other site and hopefully be able to find it.

    Best,

    Kimberlie
    BlossomBabyClothes.com/

  28. 32 sandrar September 10, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


  1. 1 Yarn Life » Blog Archive » Tuesday in Blogland, 12/5/06 Trackback on December 5, 2006 at 6:15 pm
  2. 2 yoga Trackback on May 31, 2007 at 4:56 pm
  3. 3 First Felting Project « kasanika Trackback on January 4, 2008 at 9:28 pm
  4. 4 Design Shrine | felting in a drought Trackback on March 15, 2008 at 1:15 am
  5. 5 Felting Info, Links and Examples. « Stephalicious Trackback on March 18, 2008 at 6:28 pm
  6. 6 Midweek Update: Needle Felting « Needle and Clay Trackback on May 3, 2008 at 10:23 pm
  7. 7 What to Do with Leftover Fiber | Wool Obsession Trackback on August 28, 2008 at 5:17 pm
Comments are currently closed.



Howdy!

Welcome to the site! Look around. Grab a seat. I hope you brought some knitting. Feel free to bookmark the site - and at the very least, check back every once in a while (I'm a night poster). Oh. And leave me a comment!

email me at... nicole dot hindesTAKE THIS PART OUT AT gmail THIS PART TOO dot com

proudfeminist
lysemployee
iustudent

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Stuff on the needles – to complete, sometime.

Christmas Gifts to Finish
Mom's Sweater (the body is done)

Socks in progress...
Grandma's Socks
Koigu Scruncher
Monkey
Raindrop Lace

Other
Lace Leaves Scarf from Scarf Style
The Behemoth Log Cabin
The Swallowtail Shawl
Stupid Ugly Mitten
Felted Clogs

Pages

December 2006
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

On my Ipod…Music and Audiobooks

Devil in White City heartlonely

Flickrize me!