A new hairstyle needs….

A new hairpiece. Or in this case, a lacy knitted headband.
The specifics:

Pattern: Lacy Hair Tamers (Interweave Knits webknits – this may have been a subscriber exclusive that I printed off when last December was free)
Yarn: Knitpicks Gloss (70% merino wool, 30% silk) in Woodland Sage
Needles: US 2 (bamboo)
Size: Fits me. (It hadn’t yet been blocked for these photos)
Time: Knit in one day
Mods: Yarn sub. Also, I grafted the two pieces together instead of doing the version of the 3 needle bind-off described in the pattern.
Pattern notes: Line 9 in the chart has an awkward double YO. I found that it stopped being akward when in the next row I purled the second yo through the back loop.

General thoughts – I was suprised that this pattern didn’t have a grafted center (you knit two pieces bottom up and join at the top) – it just seemed like it should have one. So I decided to add one. The 3 stitch garter edging was a bit intimidating – but I think that I managed to make it look pretty seamless.

This picture shows the join better – I can see the kitchenering, but then again I’m a knitter – and this hasn’t been blocked yet.

I really liked this pattern. I’d been pondering the idea of a knitted headband for a while and this was great – just the right amount of lace and a great lesson in headband construction. Now I want to get my hands on some more of this great yarn and make some more in other colors with other designs.

Also, my hair is nowhere near this red – or any red at all. Oh, the crazyness of digitalizing colors found naturally.

Also, I do like the Knitpicks Gloss. It’s got a perfect amount of shine. It’s not as soft as 100% merino (obviously), but I think that for classy socks (or accessories) this yarn is absolutely perfect. I’ll be using it again.

9 Responses to “A new hairstyle needs….”


  1. 1 Mary Lynn September 29, 2006 at 7:33 am

    Very cool headband. My daughter would love it! I always forget about making things like this when I need a knitting fix!

    Hope you enjoyed Grey’s last evening. Did you have a muffin this morning?

  2. 2 Karen September 29, 2006 at 3:07 pm

    Oh, that is really pretty! I couldn’t see the join at all in the picture. Very nice!

  3. 3 Punkin September 29, 2006 at 4:39 pm

    Love your headband!
    Thank you for your help with finding numbered beads.

  4. 4 nush October 1, 2006 at 10:29 am

    It’s really cute. Every time I visit your blog I want to knit the same things that you have.

  5. 5 buy music June 22, 2013 at 11:47 am

    It is easy to download music from the internet in mp3 format and that means
    you will never have to go to a music store again once you have an
    mp3 player. They may even be able to get you a discount if they’re plugged into the local music scene. Also, don’t forget to make the home page genre-specific to the music
    you like.

  6. 6 ljallasia November 16, 2013 at 1:35 am

    I love your ” a new hairstyle…” headband. My niece would go wild if I can surprise her with one for Christmas. Where can I get the pattern?


  1. 1 Lacy Hair Tamer 005 - My Natural Hairstyles Blog 2019 Trackback on November 18, 2019 at 12:43 am
  2. 2 Lacy Hair Tamer 006 - My Natural Hairstyles Blog 2019 Trackback on November 20, 2019 at 2:36 am
  3. 3 Lacy Hair Tamer 001 - My Natural Hairstyles Blog 2019 Trackback on November 21, 2019 at 8:51 pm

Leave a comment




Howdy!

Welcome to the site! Look around. Grab a seat. I hope you brought some knitting. Feel free to bookmark the site - and at the very least, check back every once in a while (I'm a night poster). Oh. And leave me a comment!

email me at... nicole dot hindesTAKE THIS PART OUT AT gmail THIS PART TOO dot com

proudfeminist
lysemployee
iustudent

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Stuff on the needles – to complete, sometime.

Christmas Gifts to Finish
Mom's Sweater (the body is done)

Socks in progress...
Grandma's Socks
Koigu Scruncher
Monkey
Raindrop Lace

Other
Lace Leaves Scarf from Scarf Style
The Behemoth Log Cabin
The Swallowtail Shawl
Stupid Ugly Mitten
Felted Clogs

Pages

September 2006
S M T W T F S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

On my Ipod…Music and Audiobooks

Devil in White City heartlonely

Flickrize me!