Love, not infatuation

Dear Ms. Evelyn A. Clark, retro_rib_socks.jpg

You amaze me. Truly. Let me explain:

Two summers ago, I decided (rather bullheadedly) that I was going to knit some socks. Forget that I’d only been knitting for 5 months. I wanted to knit me some socks! So I did what I would normally do. No, I didn’t take a class. No, I didn’t find a pattern labeled “starter socks” or “basic socks.” I pulled out an issue of IK (winter, 2004), found a sock pattern I liked (in this case, retro ribbed socks, see right), and cast on.

I knew that the pattern was only a page long. I realized it was all text. And I knew that eventually I was going to have to knit a gusset even though I had no idea what one was or what one looked like. I had faith in you Evelyn. I had faith in my ability to knit a pattern. You did not let me down.

It was a wild success. Using only the words and abbreviations in the pattern, I knit some socks. I amazed my grandmother with my fearless conquering of needles the size of toothpicks (ok, well maybe size 2’s aren’t quite toothpicks, but still …) and I loved the slow satisfaction of knitting a pair of socks.

I knit the pair in two weeks, without error. It was an incredible introduction to sock knitting. The pattern, with it’s twisted knit stitches and blocks of purls is incredible. It was easy to memorize and looks incredible. You are a goddess, Evelyn.

Anyway, I was ecstatic when I picked up a back issue of Knits with a (new to me) pair of your socks(waving lace). It was cute, it was fun and I had the perfect skein of hand-dyed yarn in mind … And it uses a stitch pattern I’d never have thought to use on socks. The pattern turned out so beautiful on socks.

Since I knit these socks, I’ve since been on the lookout for more patterns that you’ve written. Just a few weeks ago, I bought three Evelyn A. Clark Fibertrends sock patterns.

One of which, the first I decided to knit, was Raindrop Lace. Oh, how beautiful. Simply beautiful. It’s not as simple and mindless as Retro Rib, but the repeat is only 4 rows, so that keeps things really simple. Look how the first of mine turned out:
raindroplace2

I love the way this pattern turned out. I was unsure as I was knitting it if I like the pattern, or even the color of the yarn (my choice, not yours). When the lace is relaxed and scrunched, you don’t understand how incredible the pattern is. Finally, when I finished the pattern and fit it on my foot, I was flabbergasted by how much I loved this pattern. Look at the foot:
raindroplace3

It’s nothing crazy – but so beautiful. The yarn, Knitpicks Gloss, just really dresses up the sock quite perfectly. The sock is snug (so the lace stretches) but not too tight.

Anyway, I write, to simply say – You rock my socks! Really Evelyn, I’m not exaggerating. And so, to that, I present, in thine honor, a button (which I’ll post on my sidebar soon). Because, really, I love your socks.  Best, Nicole

evelynclark.jpg

(Fellow Evelyn Sock Knitters:  Feel free to steal this button and host on your own bandwidth.)

17 Responses to “Love, not infatuation”


  1. 1 knitplaywithfire March 31, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    I love your socks. I have always knitted socks from the toe up but I am now doing top down as well. I love Evelyn Clark’s patterns. Have your seen her Lupin Lace pattern? I am doing that one right now and love it.

  2. 2 Emma March 31, 2007 at 5:41 pm

    Ah, those socks in progress really are beautiful!

  3. 3 Nora March 31, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    I’ve been trying to decide between Raindrop and Unst (Nancy Bush) all week!!

  4. 4 Kathy March 31, 2007 at 9:16 pm

    Both the Retro Rib and the Waving Lace Socks are on my list of socks to knit. Your socks always turn out so beautifully!

  5. 5 Emilee March 31, 2007 at 10:16 pm

    Those are beautiful socks! I don’t think I’ve ever done any of her patterns, but I clearly have to now.

  6. 6 Monika April 1, 2007 at 10:51 am

    She’s an amazing designer! You sock looks wonderful. The color is – different – but nice. Way to go!

  7. 7 Anniki April 1, 2007 at 3:10 pm

    Youd did a great job! Nice socks.

  8. 8 Roni April 1, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    ok girly girl, did you see my blog about the Retro Rib pattern and the beautiful sock yarn you dyed and gave to me???? And is that what prompted this post (you show off) hehehe.

    I liked the pattern too…alot….but I was worried that it might show up better in a solid (like the ones in the picture) so I switched to stockinette (stayed tuned to my blog to see a pic of the soon to be finished sock which I’m totally loving). And then I click on your blog….and see…. the lace sock pattern in a multi-colored varigated yarn and it’s just beautiful! I have the 25 Favorite Socks book and just love it too!!!

    Nice job, I love those socks and I think I’ll steal your button!
    Have a great week!
    Roni

  9. 9 Karen April 2, 2007 at 10:08 am

    Beautiful socks! I really like the color you are knitting them in too. I don’t think I have tried one of her patterns yet, but I’d like to.

  10. 10 Carol April 3, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    love,love the raindrop lace socks!

  11. 11 Jennifer April 4, 2007 at 10:10 am

    I’ve only tried her shawl patterns…which I LOVE! Even though I’ve been knitting for years, her Shetland Triangle was my first lace project. Now, I’ll have to try her sock patterns too. I would love to steal your button!

  12. 12 Eleni April 9, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    What truly lovely socks! I’m going to have to go into my IK archives and find that pattern now!

  13. 13 Liz Kalloch April 10, 2007 at 11:51 am

    Love that golden heel and lacy bits… great letter to Ms. Clark

  14. 14 Micky April 11, 2007 at 4:05 pm

    Lovely work!
    You are a very brave soul. I just read some of your other posts and saw the one about changing the binding of one of your Treasury books. I don’t know if I could’ve.
    🙂

  15. 15 Beverly April 12, 2007 at 11:22 am

    All your socks are really nicely done; I’m impressed by the neat pick-ups on your gusset.
    I love the Waving lace socks too, almost done with sock #2. I’ll have to get more of her patterns. Thanks for posting about her other socks.


  1. 1 Love, not infatuation Trackback on March 31, 2007 at 5:00 pm
  2. 2 Re-inventing the Stash « All Buttoned Up Trackback on April 18, 2007 at 7:40 pm

Leave a Reply

Howdy!

Welcome to the site! Look around. Grab a seat. I hope you brought some knitting. Feel free to bookmark the site - and at the very least, check back every once in a while (I'm a night poster). Oh. And leave me a comment!

email me at... nicole dot hindesTAKE THIS PART OUT AT gmail THIS PART TOO dot com

proudfeminist
lysemployee
iustudent

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 3.0 United States License.

Stuff on the needles – to complete, sometime.

Christmas Gifts to Finish
Mom's Sweater (the body is done)

Socks in progress...
Grandma's Socks
Koigu Scruncher
Monkey
Raindrop Lace

Other
Lace Leaves Scarf from Scarf Style
The Behemoth Log Cabin
The Swallowtail Shawl
Stupid Ugly Mitten
Felted Clogs

Pages

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

On my Ipod…Music and Audiobooks

Devil in White City heartlonely

Flickrize me!

Test.

Staff Photo

More Photos

